Big Bash League 2017-18 : Sydney Thunder To Play In Canberra

big bash league canberra host bbl match

Canberra is ready to become tenth city that’ll host big Bash League 2017-18, Cricket Australia disclosed on Fri (October 13).

Sydney Thunder can play at Manuka Oval against Melbourne Renegades on January 24 as the league appearance to expand outside its traditional six venues.

Canberra Host Its First Big Bash League Match since hosting the 2014-15 final of the tournament between Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers.

Except Thunder playing in Canberra, Renegades can play in Geelong, Adelaide Strikers can host different groups in Alice Springs and Hobart Hurricanes can play in Launceston.

“This is designed to drive cricket’s strategy to ultimately continue to be Australia’s favourite sport and a sport for all Australians,” Anthony Everard, the Cricket Australia events and leagues manager, said.
“A club-by-club approach has been taken to determine the most appropriate location to host this additional fixture, taking into account aspects including existing contractual obligations, participation and fan growth opportunities, and venue infrastructure.”
The tournament are going to begin on December 19 with Thunder taking over Sydney Sixers at the Sydney Showground stadium whereas the final can be compete on February 4.

Related posts